What is a Must Have Lens

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by chrisburke, May 27, 2007.

1. chrisburke

chrisburke TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey All, I'm sure I will drive you all nuts with the questions. I'm just new to this, and I love photography, but am really just starting.

I have a D40, what would you all say is a lens that I MUST HAVE, right now I have the 18-55 that came with it, and a fisheye that is on the way from ebay.

Chris

2. JenR

JenR TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Two big questions...

1) What do you like to shoot?

2) What kind of budget are you working with?

~jen

3. chrisburke

chrisburke TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Budget wise, I play in a band, and I make good money doing it, so basically when i see something I want, i just say "oh that will take me 8 gigs to buy" i.e. my camera took me 8 gigs to buy!

As for what I like to shoot. skateboarding, concerts, I also shoot pictures of teens... I'm a youth pastor by trade, and do a lot of stuff with teens,playing games, fun events stuff like that... kind of a mix match of stuff I guess.

My wife who seldom uses the camera likes to shoot nature, flowers, landscapes, stuff like that.

4. Sw1tchFX

Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The 18-55 should be fine for pretty much all that. If you're running into limitations with the 18-55, than look into other glass. Learn what what you've got does first before buying something else.

5. The_Traveler

The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have a half dozen lenses (actually 7) and the one I like the best is a 50 mm prime Nikkor. It is incredibly sharp, fast and the 1.8 is the best lens/$ you'll ever get. I use it for theater photography - similar to band photography - along with a fast 100 mm lens.

6. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit