What is the next step??

Matt Jones

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been updating my portfolio lately with all of my product images. I am new to product photography and have never done a paid shoot. To start here are some of my photos:

abel_cut.jpg

benchmade.jpg

benchmade_close.jpg

costa.jpg

lamson_velocity.jpg

simms_boot-1.jpg

I would love some feedback on the photos.

So my question is: What is the most effective way to pick up shoots for online/print catalogs?

I am new to the forum, finally found one that discusses product photography!

Thanks!

-Matt

Last edited:
I knew you would come through Pete. Have you ever paid for ad lists anything? Seems you are pretty established. Was it word of mouth in the beginning? I just moved to a new area. Work is quickly picking up, but I need to be contacting more people. Are you always sending your book around?

Love & Bass

Matt,
Today, it isn't enough to be just a good photographer, you have to know your business as well. First thing's first: Get your portfolio up to snuff, about 15 well thought out images will do the trick. Find a way of shooting that will set you apart from the crowd, showing your particular style. Then, learn the business inside and out. Joining a professional photographer's organization will help and will pay for itself instantly. I believe cutting corners when it comes to this will not only hurt you, but other photographers out there trying to make a living. Then, read some books and get your marketing skills ready and go out and get some clients.
It sounds like a lot of work, and it is. I'm in my fourth year and am just now starting to kick off. But, in those four years, I had a crash course in bad business practices and I'm still trying to recover. Make a good start and you'll be set, then build on that.

Books to try: ASMP Professional Business Practices, 7th Edition
The Photographer's Guide to Marketing & Self Promotion - Maria Piscopo