what kind of camera?

Casey006

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I'm a complete newbie to photography. But I want to get into taking action photos. So around where I live there a alot of skateboarders and snowboarders. What kind of camera would I need. Most of them are street skateboarders. I have a regualr digital camera(what at best would that do?) and I also have a Canon T50 aswell(what at best would that do?).
Also if you have any tips on taking photos for skateboarders and snowboarders, please post them. I would be greatly appreciated.

i wont talk about cameras, because, you havent given us enough info (i'e BUDGET) really your best bet it to get out to a camera store, and hold them, find the one that feels comfortable to YOU.

Now, as for shooting skateboarders.. I can offer advice, because I shoot them everyday, and I skate myself...

Stay low, and stay close.. get a fisheye.. pics of skaters from far away, suck.. they are boring, and its hard to tell whats going on.. also, photos of skaters at eye level (you standing up taking the photo) are boring as heck, they have no punch.. get low to the ground, and shoot UP towards them.. try to get the whole body in the image.. this is why you need a fisheye.. because, you can't get close, and have their whole body in the shot, with a normal lens, they just aren't wide enough..

and then, when it comes to actually taking the pics, learn how the trick looks, and find out which part of the trick looks the coolest, and take the pic then.. theres nothing worse than taking a photo of a guy doing a kick flip, when is board is in the upright position.. you want it part way through the flip..

i wont talk about cameras, because, you havent given us enough info (i'e BUDGET) really your best bet it to get out to a camera store, and hold them, find the one that feels comfortable to YOU.
That's exactly my point with the other post.

That's exactly my point with the other post.