What kind of education do you have?

marie1128

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As far as photography classes/degrees are concerned, what do you have specifically relating to your business? Not really aspiring to become pro (yet), just taking a poll right now. Thanks!

Grade 11 education. 40 years with a camera, it all depends on the generation each of us comes from. In this generation a business background, along with photography is the combination that will give you the best chance at success. Mind you, if you are an average business person with above average photographic skills, and great with selling yourself, you have the possibilities for greater success.

Don't always assume that a great education will get you anywhere, it doesn't matter what you are doing. Luck and knowing the right people always come into play.

I have almost zero formal photography education. I took a couple of classes in high school (I graduated in 1980).

To be honest, I don't know too many working photographers who have a formal education in photography...

I've taken a handful of evening/weekend classes and I try to attend seminars when they come around.

There certainly is a lot to learn in the field of photography, and education is almost always a good thing...but...the thing about a field like photography, is that you could have a Master's degree, and still loose a job to a 17 year old kid off the street...if the client likes their portfolio better.

In terms of photographic education, I think that one really needs to look at what type of photography career they want to pursue. It seems that for most, it would be running their own small business, which is why business education is often the recommend path.

Plenty of great photographers have failed to make a living with it, because they can't run a successful business....and plenty of average photographers make a great living at it, because they are very good at the business side of things.