what kind of printers do you have?

blooper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
ive been in the market for a large format printer for a bit. im kinda interested in hearing what kind of printers you guys have at home or office.

ive been hearing alot about the canon i9000(?) and some epson printers. not sure which is the better deal tho.

what im looking for is something thatll print large borderless images up to 20inches. seperate ink cartridges would be nice too.

I have the Canon i9900 which is last years large format printer... and my girlfriend has the HP8713...both are great printers... both work real well...

I have been using an Epson R1800 for a couple of months now and continue to be impressed with the quality of prints, I chose this printer after reading so many good user reviews and discovering that there was paper profiles on the site that I could use with Photoshop. Also the drivers under Windows are excellent, and the drivers under the Mac or not bad but they do not give you the cartridge level readings like you get under Windows :(

yea.. those three are the most recommended that ive been getting since ive started creating large scale images. ive been hearing that hte epson 2200 literally drinks the ink. havent heard too many negative reports on the i9900 except price. but yea, im torn between those and am having a hard time deciding which will be the one i want. i have to get one by the end of this year, i have a portfolio review coming soon, so ill need some printed work to show.

Canon i9950 here... prints borderless A3 photos and the quality is superb. Bit hard on the ink cartridges though, of which there are 8 if I remember correctly; however I do use it a hell of a lot for glossy graphic type presentations for university, so I'm probably just getting through ink more rapidly than most.

Epson RX700. Great printer with a 3200 dpi optical resolution scanner built in.

LWW