What lens for indoor action?

cruse2of4

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need to know what zoom lens would be best to use with my Nikon D7200 to shoot wrestling or basketball events so the subjects are super sharp. The lens I am using now has the following imprinted on it: AF-S Nikkor 55-300 mm 1:4.5-5.6 G ED. I tried shooting my nephew at a wrestling meet yesterday and was very disappointed in how the photos turned out. Even with high ISO (4000) and shutter speed of 1/320, they turned out somewhat dark and very grainy. There was no sharpness to it at all. I was unable to use an aperture lower than f/5. I'm new to this and am just learning how to adjust all the settings. Maybe I can use the lens I have with different camera settings? Help!

Gymnasiums are notorious for really BAD lighting for photography. And you will probably not be allowed to use flash, so you're kind of stuck with what you have. If you can afford a more expensive lens, you can gain a couple of stops of light by using a "faster" lens, but they're not cheap.

NIKKOR Sports and Action Lenses

Additionally, use a tripod (if allowed) or a monopod to steady the camera. If you get good at holding steady, (use the strap as a sling, too) you can get to where you're able to use a little longer shutter opening. Learn the technique of "triangulating" your camera with the sling and your arms to make a very steady hold.

Watch for a shot when the wrestlers are not moving very fast to get your shot.

(edit) also use the correct AF mode.

You'll probably want a 70-200 2.8, it's not cheap though.

But you CAN find a Nikon 80-200 2.8D for around $500 (sometimes less). It won't have vibration reduction but since you are using it for indoor sport action, it would be useless anyways. Having the ability to open up to 2.8 versus 5.6 is a BIG advantage.

At the end of the day, I'd rather have noisy image that is sharp, in focus and not blurry than a cleaner image that is blurry.