What lens should I get next?

lostnfound

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I'm a bit of a newbie here. Anyways, I purchased a Canon Rebel XS in May and I eventually got the 50mm f/1.8 II lens. I've found that both the kit and prime lenses were excellent for a beginner and I've been able to take wonderful portraits of friends and family. I've been saving up money to buy an additional accessory for my camera, such as another lens or maybe a flash attachment.

In general, the main type of photography I do are indoor/outdoor portraits (mostly with natural lighting during the day). I'm looking for something that could enhance my portraits. I could get a better prime lens, but I think I'd like something that could potentially replace the kit lens I have. Any thoughts? I'd prefer to have a lens that can autofocus with my XS.

Thank you.

Welcome to the forum.

What is your budget and are you looking for a big step up from your current gear?

A great replacement for your kit lens would be the EF-S 17-55mm F2.8 IS, but it costs more than your camera.

Many people like to shoot portraits with longer lenses because they tend to flatten people's features rather than distort them. A fairly common portrait lens would be one of the Canon 70-200mm lenses...the best one being the EF 70-200mm F2.8 L IS.

For portraits, a longer lens at f/2.8 would help. The most flattering perspective for portraits requires the photographer to be 12-15 feet from the subject. A longer lens will allow you to get headshots from that range.

In general, the main type of photography I do are indoor/outdoor portraits (mostly with natural lighting during the day). I'm looking for something that could enhance my portraits.
A speedlight, Cactus radio trigger set, umbrella, light stand, and umberella bracket and a 42" 5-in1 reflector. All for use inside and outside.