What lens to get for Architecture?

fenix1280

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to photography, and I bought canon eos 50d for a real estate photography company I am starting. I have a few questions.

1. Is there a reputable store online that you can find equipment for a better deal?
2. What wide angle lens should I get with this camera to get really good un distorted interior shots?
I was thinking the ef 14mm/2.8L
The lady I talk to at glazers said this lens would act more like a 16 on this camera.

I have no Idea what this means.

b&hphotovideo.com and adorama.com are two sites i would reccomend

i'm not really sure what lens would be best, but i know that canons have a 1.6 crop factor on their sensors, so 14mm would be more like 22mm, not 16. crop factor refers to the size of the digital sensor compared to a full frame (35mm) film sensor.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crop_factor

that should help you understand it more

what is this sigma lens? What advantage does it have. I guess what Im asking is why would I get this over the ef 14mm 2.8L.(sorry for being so naive) Thank you for the quick response

I do a lot of building photography and would strongly recommend the Sigma 10-20mm. If you have a crop sensor (which I assume you do, but I didn't look your camera up), then the 14mm will occasionally not be wide enough.

HOWEVER... architectural photography is also about details, so it would be really good to have a fast high-quality zoom lens as well. If you can swing it a F2.8 70-200ish lens would also be an EXCELLENT thing to have on hand.

The best lens to use is a tilt/shift lens but they are not inexpensive. Next to that a wide angle prime tends to have far less distortion than a wide angle zoom, particularly about 28mm. After that dxO has customized software that will correct the distortion from individual wide angle lenses and cameras, and it does a very good job.

skieur