What Lens?

col85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Total noob here, I have the Nikon d40

im looking for a lens for cityscape and automotive photography

I currently only have the lens that came with the kit 15-55mm? and looking to add another lens to my kit

thanks in advance

How much you willing to spend? This is a key question as there are low and high budget options

I know that you shouldnt skimp on the lens so whatever it costs. Im not going to benefit from having any top of the range lenses. Just something that will give me an opportunity to take better pictures.

sorry that didnt actually help much, i have no idea how much lens can cost. Up to £200 maybe?

For cityscape I was thinking along the lines of the Sigma 10-20mm Nikon fit
Sigma Imaging (UK) Ltd

They have made a new version of this lens with a fixed f3.5 aperture, but its cost will be more than the older version (which is still a very good lens in its own right).

i have no idea how much lens can cost. Up to £200 maybe?
Then you certainly don't want to be saying 'whatever the cost'...

Top range lenses are about £10,000 (such like the Nikkor 600mm).

Average lenses, considerably less; but still quite a bit of money.

i have no idea how much lens can cost. Up to £200 maybe?
Then you certainly don't want to be saying 'whatever the cost'...

Top range lenses are about £10,000 (such like the Nikkor 600mm).

Average lenses, considerably less; but still quite a bit of money.

ha ok, noted:thumbup:

so 10-20mm lens would be best for cityscape

how about a lense more suited to portraits and close ups? 55-200mm?

So you're looking for under 200 pounds? Are you willing to go up to, say, 400 pounds?

So you're looking for under 200 pounds? Are you willing to go up to, say, 400 pounds?

like i said i have no real concept of the cost of lenses

If £400 is the cost of the good lens then so be it :D