What lenses for Canon?

jeljohns

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to photography and just got my first decent camera (Canon Rebel Xs). I am really confused about lenses! I mostly like to do portraits and candid shots so I know I need a zoom. I am also on a budget. What lenses do I need to have in my kit? Also, are there other companies that make Canon compatible lenses that may cost a little less?

Thanks!

Lots of posts on the forum that discuss various lenses. Try some backpost searching to find alot of great info.

Other companies -> Sigma, Tamron, Tokina seem to be the top 3

What lens to have on a budget for portraits? The nifty-fifty! aka a 50mm 1.8 prime lens. Its not a zoom, but great image quality, wide aperture and all for a low price of $120 (CAD). Every bag has to have one

Welcome to the forum.

What's your budget? Lenses of these cameras range from $100 to $10,000.

You don't necessarily need a zoom lens. A 'prime' (non zoom) lens will often give you better image quality (for the price) than a zoom lens.

I did just buy the nifty fifty! :) Haven't tried it out yet. My budget for an additonal zoom is $150-$200 right now. I was thinking zoom because then it would be like getting several lenses in one. Plus I like to take pictures of things further away.

For that price, I wouldn't bother getting a new zoom lens. With your nifty fifty, I'd use your feet to zoom by moving closer to your subject.

All things the same, an 18-200 lens has a lower image quality than a 17-50 which has a lower image quality than a 50. The more a lens will have focal lenghts, the lower the quality of the image. Sometimes, its not noticable, but in many cases, it can be. Some people are happy with the trade off in lower image quality for the huge range of an 18-200, so it all depends on what you want.