What makes it right?

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by batonrougeart, Jul 26, 2007.

1. batonrougeart

batonrougeart TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have stated here before, I am a artist, musician. When I paint, I started off traditional, but got more into the mixed media and abstract side. Same with music, It became more of a prog. style with effects and pushing the bar.
    My question here is this, why is it that so many people follow such a strict guideline with photograpy? Saying it should be done this way or that way takes the art out of it. The person holding the camera is the artist and the camera being the brush......who at that point says its right or wrong?

2. Mike_E

Mike_E No longer a newbie, moving up!

The Upper West Side of Mississippi (you have no i
    Photos OK to edit
    Well, I'm actually the guy but I'm not saying. ;)

Do what you feel, say what you think, respect your brothers and sisters and get at least one good night's sleep every couple of days. Beyond that it's up to you!!

mike

3. The_Traveler

The_Traveler Completely Counter-dependent Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What strict guideline is that?

4. JustinPhilip

JustinPhilip TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Probably things like the rule or thirds and proper lighting techniques. I think it is important to first learn and master the rules and then you can break them.

5. Hertz van Rental

Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

Why, the person holding the camera. :er:

6. DSLR noob

DSLR noob TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit