What makes Leicas so collectible?

Discussion in 'Collector's Corner' started by Senor Hound, May 9, 2008.

1. Senor Hound

Senor Hound TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am a noob to photography, and one thing that intrigues me is the Leica Rangefinder. Even though its not an SLR, it is still very popular, very good, and very expensive. I hear MANY great photographers of the 20th century would rather have one of them over a Nikon F-(insert number here) or Canon.
    What makes them so great? I read about the rangefinder design and it seemed like it wouldn't work as well (so obviously I'm missing something). I know Leica's quality is out of this world, but what makes them so great, and what makes them so collectible?

This question is asked with respect, and not skepticism. From a purely aesthetic viewpoint, I find them to be very cool (I want one...along with everyone else :) )

2. Helen B

Helen B TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think that you have asked two questons: one about collectability and one about usability. I don't collect Leicas, but I do use them, so I'll try to answer the questions about 'why a rangefinder?' and 'why a Leica?' - though briefly.

"I read about the rangefinder design and it seemed like it wouldn't work as well (so obviously I'm missing something)."

Rangefinders and SLRs have different strengths and weaknesses. It's good to be able to choose.

With a rangefinder you are framing by using a bright frame suspended in a wide field - you can see what is going on outside the frame. Everything is in focus. This tends to help you to keep a feeling of connectedness with the world. Conversely I find an SLR viewfinder to have a feeling of separation and concentration. Sometimes I want the connectedness, sometimes I want the separation. It's a subtle, difficult to describe thing.