What makes you better at photography?

Illah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.grooveeffect.com
So I just passed 4000 shots with my D50 and and am starting to figure out all the various settings and whatnot. I went to film school so many of the basic ideas of photography were taught there, though it requires a bit of translation going from motion to still (and I wasn't a cinematography major either). As far as gear I just got a nice f2.8 zoom and feel that I'm set as far as hardware goes. So far the greatest pics I've ever taken (in my opinion) were with two separate P&S cameras so I know that gear isn't the answer.

I've been using Photoshop for over 10 years so the 'digital darkroom' is something I know really well...my first HDR a few weeks ago was so natural looking, not like the neon-glow stuff with obvious gradation between exposures that pops up on Flickr every day. In fact, I was cleaning up photos with my P&S cams years ago before I knew what chromatic abberations were :)

So now all that's left, as far as I see it anyway, is to improve the aesthetic quality of my images. So how does one do this? I was biking around taking pics yesterday and got some nice shots, though nothing any better than my previous stuff.

How do you really improve? I was thinking I should just take more pics, but I feel like I could just be taking thousands of mediocre pics with no real improvement. Or I could focus on working with the many pics I already have to really get them just right. I know many photographers spend way more time after the shot to get the image how they like it.

Any advice?

--Illah

Go beyond the technical aspects of photography and start delving into the art world. Give your work perspective, look at much good photography as you can. Not on flickr, but in books by some of the best photographers of all time.