What programs do professional portrait (model) photographers use on the shoot?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by rateeg, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. rateeg
    Offline

    rateeg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    i saw americas top model episode and saw a photoshoot done by a photographer.
    after shooting it goes straight to a laptop or computer with a program that sees the photos.

    i just wanna know if anyone knows what programs do they use on site of the shoot?
    are they available on the market?
  2. tevo
    Offline

    tevo Recovering TPF Junkie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +436 / 0
    Thats called tethered shooting, which can be done in Adobe Lightroom.
  3. tirediron
    Online

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    25,336
    Likes Received:
    6,158
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southern Vancouver Island, BC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +6,170 / 0
    Tethering/remote capture software; for Nikon it's Camera Control Pro, not sure about Canon. There are also some third-party applications that will do it.
  4. Tiberius47
    Offline

    Tiberius47 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Canon cameras come with software that allows you to shoot tethered. If you have a dSLR, it should have come on the CD. If not, you can probably download it for free from their website.
  5. CCericola
    Offline

    CCericola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Washington
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +563 / 0
    Hi there,

    The episodes I have seen show mostly medium format cameras so they are probably using something like Capture One. Capture One Pro also works with DSLRs not just medium format backs and cameras.
  6. agvargo
    Offline

    agvargo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry for the quote but I haven't quite figured out to reply from my iPad.

    Personally I have never been on a shoot where anything but Capture One has been used. Currently I only shoot tethered to a computer using Capture One but have plenty of experience with Lightroom 3. Both have their own pros and cons. The reason you are seeing most professionals using Capture One is because Phase One is one of the major producers of medium format backs and Capture One is it's native processor.

    You can shoot tethered with each program with most DSLRs. I shoot national advertising daily with everything from a Canon 5d Mark II to a HD1 with a P25 back and personally wouldn't use any other program.

    Google is your friend in this case so check out http://www.twin-pixels.com/lightroom-dxo-capture-one-bibble-5/ to get a good rundown of various programs. I didn't read enough to see what capture device was used (actual camera makers software will read their own camera format better) but it will give you a good comparison of different software available.

    Feel free to pm me with any questions. I will be able to respond much easier on an actual keyboard.
  7. Sw1tchFX
    Offline

    Sw1tchFX New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,500
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +476 / 0
    EOS Utility, Lightroom, Phocus, or Capture One are the usual programs to shoot tethered with.
  8. Professional
    Offline

    Professional New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ajman - UAE
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I use EOS softwares if i want tethering with my Canon cameras, but i use Phocus which is produced from Hasselblad for my Hasselblad, Phocus is working with Canon/Nikon DSLRS also same as Capture One, i am thinking to get Capture One as well if needed.
  9. rateeg
    Offline

    rateeg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    thanks guys. can i download these programs for free on the net?
  10. 2WheelPhoto
    Offline

    2WheelPhoto New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6,850
    Likes Received:
    994
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +994 / 0
    I know of one of these with a free trial period.

    [​IMG] <---your friend

Share This Page