What settings should I start with for low light? 35mm f1.8 prime.

Kaydub

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a beginner who recently purchased a Nikon D40. Most of my pictures have been of people inside at night under low to mid incandescent light without flash. The kit lens was awful at this so I bought the 35mm f1.8 AF-S prime. I'm getting better at playing with all the different settings like aperture and shutter speed, but most of my shots that turn out well feel like accidents. I'm going all over the place settings wise.

What is a basic load-out of settings I should use? Something I can use as a starting point and then go from there. It has to be able to handle movement of the subject.

Thanks in advance! I'll post the resulting pictures once I get this figured out.

I won't tell you exactly what you should set for, but low light can be tricky. Here's a good guideline and how I typically shoot indoor lowlight. Set to Aperture Priority, open the aperture all the way up, in your case, f/1.8. Then meter your scene and figure out if your shutter is high enough to hand hold. If it's not, increase your ISO until it is.

Thanks for the fast reply. I will focus on doing that next time. If anyone else has some suggestions I'd love to hear them too.

ISO 100, Aperture wide open. Meter and check the reading to see if the shutter is usable. If its not, up the ISO. Meter and re-check.

Keep upping the ISO until you get a usable shutter.

Usability depends on what you are shooting. If there is alot of motion, you will need a faster shutter than if there is next to no motion.

ISO 100, Aperture wide open. Meter and check the reading to see if the shutter is usable. If its not, up the ISO. Meter and re-check.

Usability depends on what you are shooting. If there is alot of motion, you will need a faster shutter than if there is next to no motion.

Should have mentioned the start at ISO 100 thing. Thanks for adding that.