What should be my next lens?

00bolt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I currently only have one lens (im an amateur). I generally take pictures of my kids, vacations, birthday parties, etc... I really like the speed of my 2.8, and would hate to go to anything slower... In fact, Id like to try something faster.

I was thinking of some prime lenses like:

Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Lens
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM Lens
Canon EF 100mm f/2.0 USM Lens

any thoughts? Id love the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM Lens but I cannot afford it. So any advice/thoughts on what lens would compliment my current lens?

Thanks

Well first of do you find yourself limited in reach with your current lens?
If not then go for the 50mm - as you are not needed to reach further

However I would be more inclined to extend the reach of a set - so eitehr the 85mm or 100mm - depends what you really want the lens to do (beisdes being fast of course ;))

ya I guess the 50mm is really out of the question. Not sure why I was considering it to be honest. Id like something with a little more reach. Guess its really between the 85 and 100. Since Iv never had 85 or 100 reach, im not sure how much "more" either is. Id hate to skip out on all that I would lose by going to 100. But then again, Id hate to buy 85 and it not be that big of a step up and wish I had gone 100.

make any sense?

Well 100mm would be a bigger gain in reach and if you were keen you could look to a 100mm macro by canon or sigma (105) - that would give you two lenses in one - a 100mm and a macro (which many have found a lot of fun!)
Its something to consider.

Of course it all depends - best thing is to try out a lens in a shop to get the feel for what 85 and 100mm look like one your camera - granted you can't get the full feel, but it will give you an idea of what to expect