What should my first medium format camera be?

dav305z

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been shooting with a Nikon F3 for two years and might be interested in trying medium format. I'm looking for something with the same basic qualities as my Nikon--tough, unadorned, and relatively cheap. I'd like to keep it under $500. I shoot mostly color and mostly cars, but I've been dipping into black and white city photography.

Recommendations?

few weeks ago i saw a mamiya 645 with 80mm f2.8, 50mm f/2.8, and 200mm f/4 lenses for $275.
I had a mamiya 645 1000s years ago and loved it.

if you want something more like a hasselblad design with removable film backs, look for a Kiev 88.
its like a russian hassy.

Pentax 6x7
Mamiya twin lens
Mamiya RB
Rolleiflex
Yashica twin lens

Examples of above should show up in your price range.

Joe

Bronica SQ-A is also cheap.

Most twin lens reflex cameras can be obtained pretty cheap ... I've owned a number of them.

Rollieflex's are over priced, get a Minolta Autocord.

I was gonna say, Bronica SQ-A or SQ-Ai are good cameras, affordable. The lenses have nice bokeh, and each lens has a Seiko shutter in it. If you want to be able to shoot cars, something with a semi-wide angle lens at least would be useful in many situations, which sort of eliminates the twin-lens reflex cameras from consideration. The SQ series has a 645 back available, but it shoots "talls", so you if you wanted to shoot horizoatally-composed shots using a 645 back, you would probably want a 1) an eye-level viewfinder prism and 2) a handgrip, in order to be able to easily handle the camera when framing "wides".

If you mostly want to shoot horizontals, the Mamiya 645 line might make a lot of sense.