What the hell do I choose?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Graelwyn, Jun 1, 2008.

1. Graelwyn

Graelwyn TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Been debating this for a month now. I get to a point I think I am decided, then I end up being swayed again.

I had a D200, then sold it off last year with the lenses. so I am starting anew again. I only had 2 lenses anyways.

I am trying to choose between a Canon 40D and a Nikon D80.

If I selected Nikon, obviously, I would be saving for the D300.

Selected Canon, I have no idea what I would progress to.

I have no experience of Canon, but it feels just as right in my hands as the D80 and more right than the D300.

Which would be the better deal...

http://www.cameraworld.co.uk/ViewPr...m IS CashBack Offer&CAT_CODE=5&SUBCAT_CODE=95

http://www.cameraworld.co.uk/ViewPr...e=Nikon D80 Double Lens Bundle CashBack Offer

2. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    hmm I think you are thinking backwards ;)
    Don't get too hooked up on what body to go for next after starting - think more what glass you want on the camera. Both canon and nikkon have good ranges of glass and can do almost anything you want, but if there are any specific areas you are wanting to go into one brand might be better than the other. Further good glass is worth far more than a good body and will last out for more years without being upgraded.

After that I would say that the feel of a camera is very important as you are going to be using it for a long long time so to be comforatble with using it is key.

3. soylentgreen

soylentgreen TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit