what this on my pics

miskin83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
i am new to the dslr world

what this thats appearing on my pictures??

dust.JPG
dust.JPG

it appears with different lenses.

is it dust?? i have only had the camera for a month.

Many thanks

pic attached

You may have dust on your low pass filter. You can try to clean it yourself, although as I have said in other threads you run the risk of getting more dust on your filter through trying to clean it. I had a nightmare situation that was solves by an awsome camera store but thats another story. If you feel brave read up on the internet about cleaning a low pass filter, I would say take the safe route bring it to your local camera shop and ask themto clean it or to show you how to clean it. Although judging from the look of that it may not be dust on your sensor in which case I do not know what it is.

well i have checked my first photos i took with the camera and this mark isn't on it. I think it dust.

d 50 are you in the uk, and if so do you know what the costs are for a camera shop to clean sensor?

cheers

I'm assuming that that is a crop, to show a close up of the spot? It does look like dust, if it's only a small spot.

Google "sensor cleaning" and you will find plenty of info on how to do it yourself. You may be able to use a blower bulb to blow the dust off but as D-50 said, be careful not to get more on the sensor. Always do it in a clean room...set it to cleaning mode (with full battery)...turn it open side down and gently give it some puffs of air.

If the spots remain, you may need to use a sensor brush or cleaning pads etc. You can learn to do it from web sites...but maybe seeing someone do it for you, would be the best way to learn...if so, ask at a good camera store.

Be aware, this post may be contrued as being unhelpful:

Buy an Olympus with the self cleaning CCD. :wink:

miskin83, can you post the whole picture?