what to buy...please help...

NJPhotonewb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello everyone,

This is my first post but wanted to first say u have a great site. i've spent the last 2 hours as a "guest" surfing and reading some of the hints and reviews. needless to say i learned quite a bit.:hail:

as my handle shows, I'm a photo newb thats looking for a decent beginners/amateur dSLR. Unfortunately the only "real" camera shop near me doesn't carry one of the cameras i'm looking at so i'm looking to you guys for help.

I'll mostly be shooting pictures of my wife, 2 boys (22 months and 8 weeks) :confused: dog, sporting events and landscapes. Nothing professional or for pay. Currently I have a Canon powershot G3 P&S camera, and a Minolta maxxum HTsi plus with a 28-80 lens.

I've been looking at the Canon EOS Rebel XTi and the new Sony Alpha 100. which of these two cameras do you guys think would be better for me? Is EBAY a good place to buy from or should i stick to bigger name shops like B&H? Price wise the deals on ebay run about 1400 bucks for the camera, 2 lens,wide angle adaptor, 4gb flash card, bag, hard case, tripod, flash and lens cleaning kit...Is that a good deal?

please help me out...everytime i think i decide on one, i get cold feet thinking its the wrong one...

thanks

G-

My Experence with the kits on ebay is that while the camera is ok, some of the lenses and other stuff they provide is not worth it.(Cheap)

there are lots of places you can order the camers from online and no worry about grey market equipment.

I would stick with B&H, I spend more money than I want to think about there and have never had even the slightest issue.
As for the camera, of those two I would go with the Canon, check the reviews and draw your own conclusion, the Sony has a pretty good amount of noise once you start bumping the ISO (unless you get fast glass you'll need to bump the ISO up for sports). But the Sony may take the Minolta lens you have, I'm not up on that system.