What to Do, What to Do?

cdnaiphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
SO...I have been building a portfolio and for now I have not been charging while I am gaining experience, knowledge, etc. WELL, I told my clients that I would give them ALL EDITED photos on a disc, now they are requesting all originals "just for personal use." I dont really want to give them the originals because they aren't my best work (OOF, Bad Lighting, etc) and they will post them on Facebook and such and that just makes me look bad ya know? But considering that I am not technically charging how do I say no?

Tell them the edits were free but charge them for the orignals. :lol:

Sorry, I know that's not helpful. Was there something about your editing they didn't like, that they think they'd be better off with the originals?

I don't have a studio so maybe someone else can comment on this from the business side of things, but I know when I show my photos to people, I almost never explicitly mention that they were edited unless I'm showing them side by side to show off the improvement. So maybe in the future you shouldn't tell them you're only giving them edited photos. I don't know what the "standard etiquette" for this is.

As for this particular situation, you may be best off just giving them the originals since they already know they exist. If you're worried about the impact to your reputation then maybe you need to re-think how you're going about building a portfolio, because if someone is in possession of your photography, whether they paid for it or not, and whether you edited it or not, it's going to get out where others can see it, even if it's just because it's hanging on their wall. If you want control over which ones are seen, you need to exercise that control up front, and not after the fact.

Just my two cents.