What to do with RAW files?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Seekwence, Jul 18, 2010.

1. Seekwence

Seekwence TPF Noob!

This may have been asked/answered before, but a quick search didn't bring up much of anything helpful (relating to my question). So if already explained, please refer me to the right place.

So being a total noob and all, I am interested in knowing what you do with those RAW files after processing. Do you really keep multiple backups of those large files...just in case?

2. fokker

fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Think of it this way - external hard drives are cheap ;)

3. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes. I do.
    I have "Originals" as a folder of its own (on my second harddrive inside the computer, and on two external harddrives, and on RAM-DVDs), with the RAW-files and their untouched conversions.

The processed photos go into folders of their own.

And yes, it takes up ALL the space I have. Thankfully I don't feel the need to play any computer games, or nothing would work on my computer any more with the amount of photo files I have.

But when one of my external harddrives jagged the other day and I had no more access to MANY photos of mine, I started thinking that yet another means of back-up should be chosen, and I think I will save the originals on RAM-DVDs eventually. All of them. Boy, what a fright ... but DH got it back to running by gently knocking against the side of that external harddrive, had room enough on his computer to copy all the data there at first, I bought a new external, and re-copied the files there. NOW, of course, the one that had jagged runs smoothly as ever ... :roll:

4. kami

kami TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit