What to get?

JenkinsThePole

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
I'm new the world of photography and was wondering whats a good budget-friendly DSLR to get me started? Wildlife will be my main focus for now. Also, is it OK to buy used instead of new? I currently have a 12MP Sealife DC1200 (that was bought used) that I'll be using for diving this spring/summer but I want something that will give me quite a bit more quality for when I'm above water. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Used is usually good if you purchase from a reputable dealer. Avoid disreputable dealers.

Yes, used is a great way to go. What do you have an interest in photographing mostly? Have you used any major camera brands already? What's your budget?

I'm thinking mostly birds, animals, and possibly insects. My budget is under $500. Also, I have zero experience with any major brand.

Used is good if you can be assured of the quality of the item. There are lots of good used online dealers who have really good return policies and post pics and descriptions of quality. Then there is ebay/craigslist which can be a dice roll but you can really get a good deal if you are patient and cautious. Craigslist can be good if you can inspect the item in person. Buying from other enthusiasts found on a forum like this can also be good as the gear is usually well described and often well kept. I have bought a lot of used Nikon gear as well as out of production Hasselblad gear and been pretty lucky with most of it. I have had a dud or two but that was mostly stuff that was questionable from the onset.

For under 500 you can get a really nice entry level DSLR from Nikon (the D3400 with kit lens is 496). For just over (if you can stretch a bit) you can get the D3400 Kit deal with the tele lens that Nikon is running right now for 596.

Although out of production you can get a Used D3300 ( I have one and its great) for well within your budget.