What Tripod? Yes I searched. Need Some More Help

TAG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok well I think I have the brand sorted out. I asked around and searches and I'm looking at a Manfrotto/Bogen tripod. I'm not certain that I need a CF tripod, I don't mind a little extra weight, but if they are going to be more durable then perhaps I should look into it. I will be taking these items on planes quite often.

I was told to get the 55pro but I thought I would ask around here first. I also need to pick out a head for thsi new tripod. I don't mind paying for a good tripod but I don't want to pay a lot to get a tripod that I don't really need. I'm going to get into night photography, mostly the northern lights and it can be a little breezy up here so I need something stable, and that will stand up to extreme cold.

I'm far from a professional photgrapher, but I am looking to become an avid enthusiast.

This is the gear I presently have on order to me.
Canon EOS Digital Rebel XSi / 450D 5.1 x 3.8 x 2.4” (128.8 x 97.5 x 61.9mm) 16.8oz (475g)
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens 7oz (200g) 2.7 x 2.7” (68 x 70mm) 58mm Filter
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Lens 13.8 oz (390g) 2.8 x 3.4” (70 x 108.00mm) 58mm Filter
Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens 21.1oz (600g) 3.1 x 4.7” (79.0 x 119.0mm) 58mm Filter

It's not overly heavy or big gear so I think most tripods will do. Any suggestions from this list on the link below would be much appreciated.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/shop/5138/Tripods_Bogen_Manfrotto_Tripod_Systems.html

or if there is a better place to buy them I would be much appreciated if you could point me in the right direction.

I searched but really didn't find a lot of information on tripod selection suprisingly enough.

Thanks for the help

-TAG

Last edited:
This is a good all around choice.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/505863-REG/Bogen_Manfrotto__055XPROB_Tripod_Legs_Black_.html