What would you do?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Donald, May 24, 2006.

1. Donald

Donald TPF Noob!

Hi Everyone,

I have a dilemna, and would greatly appreciate some input.

I have a nearly new Nikon F55 film camera, with two lenses. I am thinking I would like to sell it off to buy a digital camera. I figure between my savings and the proceeds I would have about 200 pounds, maybe slightly more, to spend. What would be my best option for a digital camera? I am a relatively experienced photographer, and enjoy taking non-professional photos of family, nature, etc... I would like the highest quality option possible, and am not afraid to use manual settings etc...

I have also thought of keeping the lenses and waiting until the prices come down to buy a Nikon digital camera that I can use with the lenses I already have.....

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Don

2. 2framesbelowzero

2framesbelowzero TPF Noob!

Maybe keep the lenses and buy second-hand digital nikon from ebay.

What type of lens fit are they..AIS ?

3. Donald

Donald TPF Noob!

They are G type lenses....does that mean they are not compatible with digital cameras? I bought them as part of a F55 package.....

4. Donald

Donald TPF Noob!

Sometimes I struggle with the whole film vs digital issue as well...but it would sure be nice to not have to buy film, etc...

5. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

My suggestion, would be to do all that you can to get a Nikon DSLR. A D50 or a D70. You will be able to use your current lenses on either.