whats better the Rebel Xti or the nicon D80

quattro4life

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Want to upgrade from my shizzy point and shoot. looking at both the Rebel and the D80. Im not an expert protographer however have been getting into it alot more lately. cost isnt a constraint so which model should i go with? any input is great! thanks

quattro4life said:
Want to upgrade from my shizzy point and shoot. looking at both the Rebel and the D80. Im not an expert protographer however have been getting into it alot more lately. cost isnt a constraint so which model should i go with? any input is great! thanks

Canon and Nikon are competitors with comparable equipment and service. Obviously you can make great images with either. I think I would go handle the units and understand how they feel to you and how they operate. Most likely one will ring your chime more than the other and that's the one to choose. Getting subjective advice from owners will only tell you what they like, not what you like.

Not another Nikon vs. Canon thread! ;)

I agree with fmw... go touch them! I had read TOO MANY reviews, bought TOO MANY magainzes and asked TOO MANY questions before I made up my mind to buy the Canon.

Then I went to the store and held it in my hand. I bought the Nikon right then. To me the Canon felt too small and cheap. (I know it's not cheap... all you Canon phreaks calm down) ;)

Everyone has their own personal preference, and before you go and kill yourself comparing every little detail between the two I'd go handle them both. Which one is comfortable in your hands? I think it's a factor that many people overlook, but after a 10 hour day carrying my camera I'm glad I chose the one that felt better to me.

~Dewey