What's in your camera bag?

KyPink

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photography and shopping for my first SLR. I've pretty much decided on the Canon T1i. The kit lens will do me for a while but what other lens (or lenses) are must haves. I plan to do some portraits and outdoor photography.

Thanks, Jenny

I have a T1i as well. My first extra lens was the EFS 55-250. Recently I picked up an EF 70-300 IS USM. I might get a good quality mid-lens to replace the 18-55 "kit" lens that came with the camera. Also in my bag are some absolute necessities- extra battery, 4x neutral density filter, circular polarizer filter, spare storage card, assorted cables, and an old flash.

In my bag (which is a Domke F2, BTW) you will find:

(Cameras)
Canon 350D
Canon 10s (35mm)

(Lenses)
(All Canon)
50mm 1.4
85mm1.8
100mm 2.8 Macro
135mm 2.8
70-200mm 4.0 L (non IS)

(Filters)
B+W 092 (IR)
B+W 093 (IR)
B+W CPL
B+W 6 pt Star

(Other Stuff)
Macro Coupler
Various Step Up/Down Rings
Film
Batteries/Chargers/USB Cable
Multi-tool (Gerber)
Cleaning Kit (for lenses & sensor)
Manuals & other handy reference material
WhiBal

There's probably a few more things in there too, but that's what I use often enough to know it's there, lol.

I have a few more lenses and other stuff, but I don't keep them in the bag. (They don't see much use.)

Nikon D1X, D300, D200, D90, D60.

A bunch of Nikon lens and speedlights.

Though you've decided on the T1i, Nikon's D90 blows it out of the water when it comes to image quality. You may think I'm biased but I say that based on testing results by an independent lab.

You can review the labs test results right here.

The test is about image quality (RAW) only, they don't compare other features.