Whats the difference?

Discussion in 'The Black & White Gallery' started by videoboyje, Jun 4, 2008.

1. videoboyje

videoboyje TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Im fairly new to photography, and i have wondered something for a while. Is it better to shoot in B/W or use gray scale on a colored picture later? Is there a quality difference between the two? Do you guys usually shoot in B/W or use gray scale later? Thanks guys.

2. Rachelsne

Rachelsne TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I think Grey scale doesnt have any true blacks-so the picture wouldnt be true black and white...I may be wrong though

3. NateWagner

NateWagner TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    In addition, an advantage of shooting in color is that one can always change it to black and white later, particularly changing the levels and being able to create a higher contrast, more interesting image.

4. compur

compur No longer a newbie, moving up!

Whatever works best for you is better and it's better because it works best
    for you.

5. Miaow

Miaow TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I like to shoot in colour and then convert a pic - Sometimes what I thought would work well as a B&W didnt and was actually better in colour - At least shooting in colour if the pic doesn't work as a B&W you can still go back to the colour version whereas shooting in B&W you cant go back...

Grayscale true doesn't really give a great black and white conversion I've found - I've been using the dual tone conversion in PhotoImpact (dont have photoshop) recently rather than grayscale (monotone) as it gives better colours and I can also use the red filter if needed.

6. BrandonS

BrandonS TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    It should be noted that if you shoot raw, at least on my D80, it doesn't matter if you have it on B&W or not. The RAW file will still be color. I would imagine it'd be the same with all cameras.

7. Alex_B

Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit