What's with long exposures??

bbaker35

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have seen many people talking about taking shots of stars and such with long exposures...

I'm really new to photography, so I have no idea what anyone is talking about... Will someone help me?

1) What is a long exposure?

2) What effect does it create?

3) Does anyone have a picture so I can see how it's supposed to look?

4) What else can you shoot long exposures of except stars?

5) What purpose does it serve?

5) How do I do it with my 350D?

Sorry for all the questions, but I'm sooo freakin new to photography.

A long exposure means using a slow shutter speed. This will keep the camera shutter open for longer and let more light onto the film/sensor.
As light levels decrease (gets darker) you need to let more light into the camera to record an image.
You can compensate in several ways. Using a higher ISO means that the film/sensor is more sensitive to light. Using a wider aperture (smaller f-number) or slower shutter speed to let more light in.
Long exposures means that moving objects will be blurred.
Working out the best combination of these for a given situation is one of the skills of photography.
Check out the Glossary at the top of the forum.

1) What is a long exposure?

Most photographs are taken with a shutter speed of 1/30th of a second or faster. A long exposure is just setting the shutter speed slower than normal for the subject matter (and "normal" will be different from person to person).

2) What effect does it create?

Slow shutter speeds capture time. If your subject doesn't move during the exposure, it may look just like if you had used a fast shutter speed. But if your subject moves during the exposure the movement shows up as a blur, streaks, etc... in the photo. Movement at the camera end is also recorded.

3) Does anyone have a picture so I can see how it's supposed to look?