When did you go PRO?

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by Kerri Rae, May 1, 2007.

1. Kerri Rae

Kerri Rae TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm just getting serious into digital photography and was hoping some of you could share your experiences into how you ended up as a professional photographer. Was it a serious hobby and you never planned on going pro? Did you always know you wanted to do this for money? Did you just start taking small jobs and ended up getting enough work? Is photography something you are only able to do part time? Did you go to school for this? Did you start off as a photographer' assistant?

Thanks for sharing your story!

2. Alpha

Alpha Troll Extraordinaire

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I went pro on my way out of the womb.

3. lasershot

lasershot TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    lol, nice one...

I myself am not pro yet because I'm just starting out but I plan on going pro when I sell 2 prints lol.

4. PicturePerfect1

PicturePerfect1 TPF Noob!

I am also not pro yet... but i am opening a studio in my home in the next month and have been running a part-time portrait business for a year. I am a sophomore in college and am getting a degree in portrait photography ... I would have to agree with the first comment made... I was born ready to be a professional in the field and have never doubted it... :)

5. CBRfanatic

CBRfanatic TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    i have recently become serious with it as well after showing friends, family, and co-workers my shots and most of them wanting to buy multiple prints. Im opening my own design studio soon as well. Ill consider myself fully professional when photography is my sole bread winner and im hosting workshops etc.

6. JIP

JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

The first time someone paid me for a photograph.

7. zendianah

zendianah TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Max.. why am I not surprised... :) Damn Genius!

8. AprilRamone

AprilRamone TPF Noob!