when do I start charging?

maulrat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm still pretty new to photography and I've only had a dslr since summer. My equipment is very limited; I don't even own a flash. Some friends think that I should start charging for photoshoots to fund this spendy hobby of mine but I don't feel that my photos are up to par. How do I know when I'm good enough to start charging?

Here are a few shots from my only photoshoot. It was unformal and free. My friend just wanted some family photos for Christmas cards. Any advice and comments are greatly appreciated.

433283187_HuMBW-M.jpg

433286340_EhkaT-M.jpg

433286670_qmkj7-L.jpg

433284268_uUeLc-M.jpg

433283755_AzhwA-M.jpg

Last edited:
You'll need more time behind the camera. Remember, they think you should start charging now, but when you are paid to do something the expectations are light years beyond what they expect for a free one.

When you are confident enough in yourself & your work that you don't have to ask. This is not meant to be condescending. If you're charging for your services, you need to have the presence, the product, and self confidence so that people feel they're getting what they're paying for.

I have been shooting over a year and have quite a bit of equipment (body, professional lenses, strobe, softbox, speedlight, etc). I have just begun to ask for donations to be made to my favorite charity, but it is options. It has gotten me even more work because there are some people who really feel uncomfortable taking your talent and skill for granted. I guess you have to do whats right for you, but I think it is when you can deliver every time without great reservation.

I have just begun to ask for donations to be made to my favorite charity, but it is options. It has gotten me even more work because there are some people who really feel uncomfortable taking your talent and skill for granted.