When out on a shoot, how many pictures should one take?

pbelarge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
When I had (still have 2) my point and shoot, I would take 200 pictures and delete 180 of them...it was good enough for what I was doing. I amassed about 73,000 work pictures in the last 9 years.

Now I have a Canon T1i. The problem I seem to have is I am picture crazy. I take mostly landscape type pictures, and I seem to take way too many pictures, yet I cannot stop because it seems like there are just so many great shots out there and I do not want to waste my limited photo time.

I now have slowed down a tiny bit, but I am taking raw/jpeg pictures. I have also been taking most in the last week or so in bracketed form.

On an average shoot, how many pictures would generally be considered correct?

Also, I am just getting into PP with PSE8. I know, don't ask, I am crazy.

Thanks ahead for the help!

There is no "correct" amount of images to take.

Take what you need. Leave the rest.

Yeah, like Bitter said, there is no right answer. It just depends.

I mean, you could go out and take just one amazing picture and it would still be a good trip, even though you only took one picture.

Not taking a ****load of pictures isn't 'wasting' your photo time. Sorting through 200 pictures to find the 20 good ones is.

Stop and really think about what you're doing. You'll probably come home with less pictures, but you'll have more good ones.

Thanks Bitter

When out shooting, do you ever consider that the PP is going to be a bear due to all of the photos?

How does one go about choosing which photos to PP? I have a 24 inch screen, so I get a decent look at them.

I am the world leading photo deleter :er:, and would like to loose that designation some day.