When to use post processing?

Raizels

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

When is post processing used? Sometimes the picture looks better without.

As a beginner I'm discovering tools to work with but I'm not always sure whn to use which tool.

I shoot in RAW with complete neutral settings and use PP on just about every photo I intend to keep. But that's just my personal preference. I don't really like how the camera processes photos and I tend to be a control freak when it comes to that.

#1- Always shoot in RAW.
Since you will always be shooting in RAW, #2 is easy to guess
#2- Always use post processing, no matter how small. A slightly tweaked RAW file will still look better than an untouched JPEG.

If you don't want to edit every single shot, you can shoot in RAW + JPEG and only touch the RAW in post processing if there is something you want to fix. JPEG is very limiting how how much you can correct/fix.

Do you play around with it or use auto?

Auto setting on the program or on the camera? Auto adjustment doesn't change much. You should learn how to manually tweak all of the settings.

no, sorry, I should have been more specific. I meant when doing pp (I do it on GIMP) I just press the auto button and the program does it for me :)

no, sorry, I should have been more specific. I meant when doing pp (I do it on GIMP) I just press the auto button and the program does it for me :)

I would get comfortable using all of the settings independently of each other. What if you have a picture that needs more contrast after your auto adjustment? Or saturation? You should know how to tweak them, and when to do it.

I'm not sure the cameras you work with, Raizels, offer you the option to take RAW images, which are practically only data, to begin with, and not even pictures as such.