Where did you learn photography?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by CleeM., Jun 30, 2005.

1. CleeM.

CleeM. TPF Noob!

I'm new to this photography thing and I'm really starting to get into it. Sometimes i catch myself thinking, now that would be a good picture. So i was just wondering if you guys just learned as you went or if you have taken a course.

2. erniehatt

erniehatt TPF Noob!

I got most of what I know from books and magazines. Ernie

3. spiralout

spiralout TPF Noob!

I picked it up myself when I took a the fall semester off last year. I'm self-taught, as I'm sure most of the others on the forum are, unless you count books, of course. :D

4. railman44

railman44 TPF Noob!

Never took any courses. Self read when it came to f-stops, etc. I truly believe real artistic expression cannot be taught. It can be helped along but not taught. If you can't carry a tune in a bucket, nobody is going to teach you to sing. Most of us aren't Ansel Adams so don't become discouraged. If you like your work that's all that really matters. My .02 pesos...

5. clarinetJWD

clarinetJWD The Naked Spammer Staff Member

I am mostly self-taught also, though I had help from Scott (SpiralOut) :)
    Also, "THe Joy of Digital Photography" is a very good, corny titled, extremely thorough book that I'd certainly recommend

6. iSellJerseyShore

iSellJerseyShore TPF Noob!

Me too lots books, mags & On-Line reading.... As well as lots and lots of hands on experience... That is the best way to learn - SNAP SNAP SNAP and keep on SNAPPING!!!

Read & Apply what you have read, thats what I do.... I just recently started a little notebook with different tips and techniques to keep in mind when shooting...

-iSellJerseyShore

7. HoboSyke

HoboSyke TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    All self taught, with a little help from the my cameras instruction manual.

8. essjayyell

essjayyell TPF Noob!