WHERE is the sensor on my 300D???

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Corry, Apr 11, 2005.

  1. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    IT NEEDS CLEANED BADLY!!!! Tips on how to do so would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. voodoocat

    voodoocat ))<>(( Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,277
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It's behind the mirror.
    You should have an option for locking it up so you can clean the sensor.
     
  3. triggerhappy

    triggerhappy TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    London, UK
    Dead easy :D

    All you need is a [ame="http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00017LSPI/102-7007144-6727366?v=glance"]rocket blower[/ame]. I have a d70, but the procedure is much the same. Do a mirror lockup (or cleaning lockup - something like that) and take your lense off. If you look into the back of your camera, you'll see a shiny rectangle - your sensor. Simply face the camera downwards and give it a couple of squirts of air. Job done :D

    There are more serious cleaning options
    1. take it to canon
    2. clean it yourself with specially made cleaning pads.

    However, try the rocket blower first as it always works for me and the other options are more expensive or risky respectively.

    One more point. I wouldn't try using a pipet or anything home-made to clean the sensor. I've known a couple of people to do that and it turned out that there was a fine layer of dust on the inside of the pipet. That ended up making the sensor 100 times worse and had to be sent to canon for cleaning. The rocket blower is great and has a filter to stop it 'breathing' in dust.
     
  4. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    There are a few "how to clean the sensor" sites around. Try a google.
     
  5. pursuer

    pursuer TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The sensor is behind the mirror, to get to it you have have to go to the last options tab in the menu and select sensor clean. This will lock the mirror up until you turn your camera off. I have cleaned mine a couple of times simply by using the blower brush that came in my lens cleaning kit to gently blow off any dust. If your sensor is very dirty it might require somthing more aggressive. Just don't use canned air like the stuff used to blow the dust off of PCs.

    EDIT: Ha, all you guys posted while I was typing, oh well. Wow, I so have to get a rocket blower.
     
  6. rangefinder

    rangefinder TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
  7. BadRotation

    BadRotation TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Burton, MI
    http://www.pbase.com/copperhill/ccd_cleaning


    Air didnt work for me at all, in fact, it made it worse.

    My 20D is a magnet for dust on the sensor and I need to clean it almost every month.

    I use the technique in the link above, and it works great.
     
  8. Sharkbait

    Sharkbait TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    I always make sure to turn the camera off before changing lenses. The CCD is an electrical device, and if it suddenly gets a whiff of fresh air while on, it'll suck the dust straight to it.
     
  9. LizM

    LizM TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Heart of the Heart of Dixie
    I have a 300D and just used the Eclipse liquid and the Sensor Clean system (type 2 for 300D). It worked fine and the mfg guarantees against damage if you follow their directions. It cost $55 for everything but I have enough to clean the sensor another 10 times or so. Do NOT use PEC pads (that is straight from the mfg of the PEC pads) - they are of a different material than the Sensor Clean.
     
  10. Corry

    Corry Flirtacious and Bodacious Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21,169
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    North Central Illinois
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks everyone! Unfortunately, most of my St. Louis pics from this weekend are bad because of MASSIVE amounts of dust...I post some examples in a bit, if I rememeber!
     
  11. Sharkbait

    Sharkbait TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    What the heck do you guys do with your cameras that the sensors get so dusty?? I've shot my 300d for almost two years and my 20d for six months (as a professional--I put 1000+ frames a day through them sometimes) and have never had to clean the sensor. :shock::shock:
     
  12. BadRotation

    BadRotation TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Burton, MI
    I do alot of photography is dusty areas (along old abandoned railroad grades, etc) and even with keeping the lens on the camera 100% of the time, dust still seems to find its way into the 20d
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

300d sensor locations

,

300d corry truck