...Where to begin...

qy10

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I know that I'm still fairly new at photography, but I would like to slowly ease into finding ways to have my photography become a secondary income for me. If things go well, perhaps it could become a primary source of income for me, but that would be a long ways off. I am trying to remain realistic.

My primary passions are canine photography (both pet as well as working dog photography) as well as nature photography. For the pet photography, I enjoy outdoor, natural lighting. I live in an area with a lot of pet owners and a lot of beautiful outdoor space to do photo shoots. I don't know of many pet photographers in the area, so I feel like there could be a decent market for it.

In addition, there has been a rise in sporting and working dog clubs. I actually have sporting and working dogs and belong to some of those clubs. So, one of my ideas was to reach out to the clubs for when they are hosting trials... I could photograph the dogs trialing and the owners could choose whether or not they wanted to purchase the photos. That is how it is normally done, in my experience.

Although I have this general idea of what I want to do, I feel like I'm kind of lost and not knowing where to start. A Facebook page? A website? Business cards? Flyers or brochures to leave with various dog training facilities/vet offices etc.... Building an online or hardcopy portfolio? And then there is the anxiety of, what if no one likes my photographs? What if I do a photo shoot with someone's animal and all the photos look like crap?

I know that I definitely want to upgrade some of my lenses a bit because I find that while I have these ideas for projects with my own dogs, I'm not always able to capture the photo that I want, but maybe that is just my inexperience shining through?