where to find discussions or articles about back&White

Discussion in 'The Black & White Gallery' started by Rere, Sep 19, 2008.

1. Rere

Rere TPF Noob!

In NC, but currently my husband and I are workcamp
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi All,

I didn't post any photos, but was wondering if there's a discussion about Black and White Photography on this site?

One question that I'd really like to ask is if there's a time when burned out highlights are ever acceptable? I find myself doing all I can to avoid or remedy them. Other views?????

Rere

2. Scruff McGruff

Scruff McGruff TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I don't mind some blown highlights, as long as it's intentional/unavoidable and works with the image. I'm also not an expert, though, so I may be in the minority here... :)

3. Stogie

Stogie TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    If you really want to get good at B&W, you need to study the zone system. If your interested, send me a private message. I can point you in the right direction.

4. Rere

Rere TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks Stogie, but I'm learning by doing. Do you do much Bl&W?

5. Stogie

Stogie TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Believe me Rere, the zone system is learning by doing. :) There's really not alot to learn about it, but you will shoot alot of film while learning. I'm not sure if I can post links here, but I will send you a private message with a couple of links that have tons of B&W stuff. To answer your original question about blown out highlights, its not acceptable to have blown out highlights or to much black in your photos. I know thats hard to do sometimes, but thats were patience pays. I read an article the other day about Clyde Butcher, famous landscape photographer, he was shooting a sand dune and after 5 days he finally saw the right light and got to shoot 2 frame before the light was gone. Patience pays

6. Helen B

Helen B TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit