Which camera is better?

madlilgurl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a student at college taking Art & Photography and I am currently looking for a new camera. :D

I was wondering which is the better camera between these two? 'Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP' OR 'Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens (Black)''

The camera I am looking for I want it to take very close and in good quality Macro images (close up) but I am unsure if it's the camera itself that needs to be a higher mega pixel or if it just needs a longer lens for Macro photos. I was also wondering if the 'Panasonic Lumix' was a good make as the only cameras I know of that are really good are Canon or Sony cameras.

I do like the fact that the 'Panasonic' has the flip out screen ability and it can record videos which I do often. Someone I know is selling the 'Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1' for £180 which is a really good price for how much the camera was originally but I'm not sure if it'll do what I want it to.

I hope you can help, many thanks! - Madlilgurl -

Here are the links to them for a photo -

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP

Panasonic Lumix DMC-G2 12.1MP Compact System Camera Kit: Amazon.co.uk: Camera & Photo

Canon EOS 400D Digital Rebel Xti 10.1MP

Amazon.com: Canon Digital Rebel XTi 10.1MP Digital SLR Camera (Black Body Only): Camera & Photo

P.S I'm also new to this forum/site so i'm sorry if I've out my question in the wrong place :) Thankyou

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I sets only would not go with ether of them.

I have nothing against Panasonic cameras but the reason I don't recommend them is that far more people have Nikon and canon cameras and this means that you will find more help understanding the camera menus and you will have many many. Many more options for camera lenses.