Which Camera Lens??

Snakedudeman328

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello. I am somewhat new to photography yet obviously new to this forum. I enjoy taking pictures of wildlife yet have a granddad who takes pictures and videos weddings and events of that nature. He recently gave me a Nikon D100 and it came with an 18-85mm lens (not sure if thats right but its close enough). For Christmas I want a lens that can take pictures of objects up close and one that can zoom in on objects from far away. Someone told me a Nikkor 70-300mm lens would be good for zooming in from far away so I did a search and found this

http://www.ritzcamera.com/product/541532883.htm

Would this be a nice lens to zoom in on objects from far away??? I also wanted the lens that could zoom in pretty close on objects so I found this

http://www.ritzcamera.com/product/541533329.htm

Would this be a good lens to get pretty close to an object??? I cant get a macro lens since they are too expensive for me right now.

Thanks for looking. I think this forum is way better than the other one im on ( alot more active) sooooo talk to you all later!

Really??!!! You have that exact one??? Im curious to know how well it can zoom in on things.

Thanks

There is a really nice website with an interactive zoom which shows you what say, 50mm, or 200mm, or 300mm zoom looks like.

I dont know the address though but I'm sure someone out there has it.

300mm is already like a telescope!

Innocence said:
300mm is already like a telescope!

If you shoot wildlife, even 300 won't be enough in many cases. my limit currently is 300 mm, and Most of the time I wish I had 600 or more!

I really am curious to know how well it can zoom in. Do you think Target or Walmart or RitzCamera will let me try the lens on my camera if I brought it in to see how good it is???