Which camera to buy for large oil murals?

Silverknite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hey everyone, I'm an oil painter somewhat in need of some great advice on to what camera to buy to photograph my murals.

My paintings are 40"x60" to three times the size.

So far I've been using a 14 mp camera and iPad Pro camera with okay results.

I'm not really looking to spend a thousand bucks on a camera but if you give me great reasons to I might consider it. I can show some of my work if it will give you a better idea on which one to recommend.

I'm considering getting a canon pro 1000 and 2000 so What I do need it primarily is for making high quality prints.

Thanks!

Last edited:
What is you your require of the images? Just to post on websites & email? Enlarge to original size? Publish?

This is no such thing as a camera designed just for photographing paintings.

The thing that is going to make the biggest difference in the photos is going to be good lighting.

A good tripod so you can make sure it's plum to the painting. Wired or wireless shutter release. White balance cards to ensure proper color. I would make sure you have those things, try them with your 14mp camera. If your still not satisfied with the quality of the image, we could go from there. That is my opinion.

If you are planning to build a portfolio to present to potential dealers, you may want to consider hiring a professional.

If those are not viable options, then you may want to consider a used Sony A7 first generation. You can get them pretty reasonable and the full frame image quality is excellent for what your intended use is. A 50mm prime lens ( used Minolta Maxxum AF 50mm f/1.4) would be a solid choice to minimize distortion and offer excellent micro contrast, color saturation, and sharpness.

Just about any mid-range / prosumer camera will do. I'd suggest a short prime telephoto to keep distortion to a minimum.

And you'll need to learn lighting, which is a whole other animal.