Which digital is right for me?

fishacura

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all. I am a novice photographer and am looking for any advice anyone has on which next camera I should purchase. The absolute most important thing to me is picture quality. I have always focused on Nikon and Canon because I was told they have the best "glass" and to stick with them versus Panasonic, Sony, etc. (not sure if this is true).

I am currently looking at the Nikon Coolpix line (s510 or s550) abd the Canon Powershot a590 IS. Not looking for the "smallest" camera, again, just want a digital point and shoot that would produce the sharpest images. I have learned a little (for example at least now I know 10 megapixels doesn't necessarily mean it's better than 8 megapixels...has to be factored into other things like the sensor and software or something like that right :confused:.

My price point is in the $200-$250 range and am open to other brands...again, just looking for crisp PQ.

Anyway, would love your opinons...

Last edited:
With so many digital P&S on the market right now, there's no way that anyone can pick one out for you. You know what you want (although truth to tell, the picture quality is going to be very similar amongst all the major brands). Head down to the local camera stores, tell the salesman what you want, and what your budget is, and pick up and play with the different cameras. You may find that one or the other doesn't work for you for a variety of reasons, comfort, ergonomics, etc, etc. If those that you've mentioned are still in the running, check out the various on-line review sites and see what they thought of them... make your decision that way. It's really a process of elimination.