Which lens do I buy?

Discussion in 'Macro Photography' started by elegantlywasted, Jan 21, 2010.

1. elegantlywasted

elegantlywasted TPF Noob!

Hi guys,

I'm a hobbyist photographer looking into buying a macro lens. I shoot with a Nikon D80. I am on a slightly limited budget, is there anything you can recommend?

2. Phranquey

Phranquey TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    How limited is "slightly"? Give us a number to work with, here.

3. twb

twb TPF Noob!

Check out the Kenko 420-800mm Super Telephoto Zoom Lens

4. elegantlywasted

elegantlywasted TPF Noob!

A limit, preferably not more than 500-600 dollars.

But less is always better

Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  5. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Well that puts the Nikon 100mm macro out of your price range - however there is the Sigma 105mm macro ($470) and the Tamron 90mm macro ($450) which would both fit into your price range. Both will give you very good image quality (infact image quality between the macro prime lenses is very high for all of them and there is very little difference between the lenses or brands that would be noticable outside of a full studio testing setup).

They are also both of a good focal length for working with insects (since longer focal lengths give a longe distance between the subject and the camera and thus less chance of spooking the subject). They are also both fullframe compatable lenses - an important consideration if you ever want to move to using a fullframe camera body.