Which lens is best for my Nikon?

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by jnichols, Dec 25, 2008.

1. jnichols

jnichols TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    For a Nikon D80 what is best for photographing wildlife, (deer, water scenes, etc.), a telephoto lense or a macro lens? I have been writing articles for magizines and newspapers for the last two years, and getting by with a Kodak DX7590. As a beginning freelance outdoor writer/photographer everything you submit is published for gratis (hence the free in freelance I guess).
    Now that I have a D80, I am curious which would be better to invest in, a 70-300 mm f/4-5.6 telephoto lens, or a 28-300 mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro compact hyper zoom aspherical lens?
    Anyone with any insite would be greatly apreciated,

Thank you, Jay

2. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Depends on the wildlife. Deer definitely a telephoto. An ant definitely the macro :lol:

But try and not depend exclusively on one for the other. Especially Nikons macro lenses perform by far at their best in the macro range. But similarly the Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 is not very sharp at all at it's greatest reproduction ratio.

3. jnichols

jnichols TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks for the help. still not sure what lense to get. I will be shooting at 70 to 200 yds on average. Any advice on which lense will be good?

4. kundalini

kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Shooting at 70-200 yards is a far cry from a 70-200mm lens.

You didn't mention your budget. That can/will have a great influence on lens suggestions. Also, you should have an idea if reach or IQ is paramount. Often there are compromises that need to be considered. You will not likely to have all the best features at an entry level price. Expect to exploit your credit card.

For lens reviews, I like:
    photozone.de
    dpreview.com
    fredmiranda.com
    thomhogan.com