Which lense to get???

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by ajkuzia, Jun 19, 2009.

1. ajkuzia

ajkuzia TPF Noob!

Hi everyone,
    I need some help on purchasing a lense with the Nikon D90 I will be purchasing. I am a beginner and want something that will have high quality image. I will mainly be photographing landscapes, wildlife, some sports and my child. I looked into 3-4 diffrent lenses and have no clue what to get. I basically want a good starter lense and I would rather have high quality image verse zoom range.I have read good and bad about all. Want some personal recomendations from current users. Please any advice on any other lenses welcomed. Suggestions please
    choices so far
    Nikon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX VR II
    Nikon AF-S 18-105MM f/3.5-5.6 VR Lens
    Tamron AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 DiII VC lens

2. itznfb

itznfb TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    welcome to the forum first of all...

that Tamron is garbage. cross it off your list.
    you pretty much want to shoot everything and you don't want to sacrifice quality for convenience, so that pretty much crosses the other two off your list.

for landscapes you want a high quality wide angle or wide angle zoom
    for wildlife you want a fast telephoto or telephoto zoom, same with sports
    for your kid you want a fast mid or standard zoom.

generally 3 zoom lenses can cover all bases. and if you're willing to put the money in up front. you can carry those lenses with you for the rest of your life.
    all depends on your budget really.

3. ajkuzia

ajkuzia TPF Noob!

thanks for the quick response. Budget wise I want to be around 1000 or less for the lense that will do the basics. Any models or recommendations?

4. itznfb

itznfb TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    depends on what you mean by the basics...
    as i described in my first post the basics for landscapes are not the same as the basics wildlife and so forth.