Which Lense to use for Real Estate Photography with a Sony A77

ksunshiner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone I've been using my A77 for a couple of months now and I'm very happy with the results, It was for me the best option at the time because I wanted a camera that would be an investment but still affordable and good enough to allow me to improve my learning curve without having to change it in a short period of time.

I have been doing everything with it but I do want to specialize and dedicate my work to Real Estate Photography and I know I need a wide lens to shoot those pictures.

I went to the local dealer and they have a Sony Wide Angle lens but it's too expensive, I have been reading and trying to figure out what other wide angle lenses I could use for the A77.

I will be in LA, next month so I want to buy it there too because here the prices of every single peace of equipment are twice as expensive.

Any advice on the more appropriate lens I can use?

So far the options I found are:

[h=1]Sony DT 11-18mm f/4.5-5.6 Aspherical ED Super Wide Angle Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera[/h]
[h=1]Sony SAL-20F28 20mm f/2.8 Wide Angle Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera[/h]
[h=1]Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM ELD SLD Aspherical Super Wide Angle Lens for Sony Digital SLR Cameras[/h]
[h=1]Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Lens[/h]
Thanks for your help!!

The sigma 10-20 f/3.5 is going to be the best of the bunch, with the 4-5.6 version coming in at a close second.

The 11-18 is a dog sh*t lens, it's just a rebranded Tamron

The 20mm would be a poor choice, your kit lens will be wider.

I would recommend the sigma too. I like the 3.5 but you dont need the extra aperture for what you are doing and could cheap out and get the 4-5.6 and just use a tripod and longer exposure.