Which Lenses to Get With Nikon D3100 ?

spiritfly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

I'm glad that I have joined your community with my D3100 and I can start rolling :)

I'm a beginner in photography and I just bought myself a Nikon D3100 with the standard 18-55mm VR lenses. As soon as I got it, I realized that there was a model with 18-105mm also VR lenses, but the price difference is about 140$.

Considering I'm about to learn photography more as a hobby(at least for now) and I right now I really need it more for product photography, but I also want to learn to use it for landscapes, outdoor portraits as well as macro.

I could return the camera while it's new and get the one with the 18-105mm lens kit I know it is a better all around lens which is more of what I need as a starter, but I'm not sure if that will pay off, considering I'm only a beginner.

I know I won't invest that much in future in buying more expensive lenses, so do you think the switch is worth it?

Will I be better off with the 18-55mm for now while I get more into photography AND THEN get a better tele (like 55-200mm or maybe 70-300mm) or maybe get a prime lens (34mm, 50mm) for low light portraits with the money, or should I get the 18-105mm now ?

How common are used Nikon lenses in Macedonia? I'd hang on to your 18-55 and look around for a 2nd lens. A prime.

How common are used Nikon lenses in Macedonia? I'd hang on to your 18-55 and look around for a 2nd lens. A prime.

Well I'm not sure really, I don't have many contacts with other photographers, but I suppose they are more common than other brands. Why do you ask?

Thanks for you suggestion, I thought about a prime too, I know it is used for low light portraits, but I'm not sure why everybody says a 50mm is a must have, can you elaborate?

Because you might want to buy one.