Which macro lens for Nikon D90??

say_cheeese!

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Have just bought a Nikon D90 with 18-105mm VR lens kit. It is my very first DSLR and I am still learning how to use it, however I know this lens is not suitable for macro which is an area of photography that I really want to have a go at. Being so new to this and with so many lenses to choose from I thought I would ask you guys which lenses you would recommend for macro and anything else I should take into consideration when shooting.:D

Your least expensive option would be a 60mm f2.8 AF micro. Although the 105mm f2.8 micro would give you a better working distance.

With either you'll want to add an extension tube and a good flash.

Tamron 90mm f/2.8 AF-SP, used, a great lens. THere is also the somewhat newer AF-SP Di series with the Digitally Integrated lens coatings...not much different, but newer,and available in mostly in-lens motor versions since 2007-2008.

The longer, 90mm focal length gives higher magnification and allows more distance between the front of the lens and really small objects photographed at close ranges than a 60mm lens would.

Used macro lenses are fairly plentiful; many people, and I mean many, buy macro lenses, use them a few times, and within a year to two years, trade them in. Macro lenses are one type of lens that can often be found in pristine shape, even if the design is a decade or more old, and so that's why I specifically mention a used macro lens as opposed to a new lens.

The problem, as I see it for the Tammy, is that the front element moves in and out. That's just me! By lab reviews that I have read, optically it is quite good and a damn good bang for the buck.

The problem, as I see it for the Tammy, is that the front element moves in and out. That's just me! By lab reviews that I have read, optically it is quite good and a damn good bang for the buck.