Which Nikon DSLR?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by cvjarrod, Nov 17, 2006.

1. cvjarrod

cvjarrod TPF Noob!

Looking to purchase a Nikon DSLR, but wanted to make sure I could use all the accessories off of my F4. The accessories are as follows:

AF NIKKOR 24-50mm 1:3.3-4.5
    AF NIKKOR 80-200mm 1:2.8 D
    NIKKOR 15mm 1:3.5
    Nikon Teleconverter TC-201 2X
    Nikon Speedlight SB-24
    Nikon MB-21

I take a lot of offshore fishing shots, so a high frame rate is critical to catching that marlin jumping. Shots are taken from the flybridge where ocean spray is not a problem.

I've looked at the D2X and the D200 and they seem to be really nice. Price is really nice too!

I'm not a professional, but my father was (now retired and doesn't like it anymore). Any pictures taken at family events are EXPECTED to be of professional quality.

I know offshore fishing and family events are two totally different environments, but I was hoping the new digitals have come far enough to handle both.

What Nikon DSLR camera would you guys recommend and which of my accessories will work with the camera. Also, assumming my lenses will work with this camera, what other accessories would be recommended? Price is not as big of a consideration as matching my current lenses to the best camera possible.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

I believe that the Nikon D200 is the cheapest DSLR that is weather sealed...which is something I would consider an asset when shooting around water (especially salt water).

If that is not a concern, you might consider a lower model like the D50, D70s or D80...however, the D200 and D2X shoot at 5 fps, while the lower models are only 3 fps.

I believe that any of those Nikon cameras will allow the use of your lenses etc.

3. cvjarrod

cvjarrod TPF Noob!

Big Mike,

Thanks for the come back.