Which one, NikonD5000, D40 or D90

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by lotusflower007, Jun 23, 2010.

1. lotusflower007

lotusflower007 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello

well, I have to pick a camera for our marketing department. I've been bringing in from home my D50. The company is starting to see that we need a camera for the department, with a few lenses (all I have is the 18-55) I've been taking great photos, and they realize I have the talent. Now I'm just a Graphic Designer, who's taken a class in photography in college, and play around. I like my D50 just fine, and I honestly just want a better lens. I take product photography, and photos of our products in the field. I do have a natural creative talent. I think my biggest strength is composing the photo, framing it right, finding the right angle. I get the basics of lighting. I love using limited depth of field. So I get the basics, and I use manual settings. I just don't get into the technical side tooo much. I would love some advice on what to get the department.

D40 -
    D90
    or
    D5000

I want to stay with Nikon, because I already have one, and I don't have much time for a learning curve. plus I like Nikon.

and what lenses would be best.
    We are looking at a budget of 1500-2000 (max)

thanks for your input! there is so much information out there, and it's overwhelming.

I know that if I do go with a D90, I will need to justify the extra expense.

2. Aayria

Aayria TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I LOVE my D5000. It's been my first DSLR, and it is, in my opinion, designed absolutely perfectly for learning to use every aspect of the camera. It has the same sensor as the D90, which is a huge plus. The only advantages to the D90 over my camera that I came across were commander mode (which you'll want if you plan to use a lot of off camera flash), focussing motor in the body, and a slightly nicer kit lens.