White ballance question

akazoly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,
I shoot indor with economical daylight bulbs ( 6400 K ):

cflrv3.jpg

Which settings I need to use for correct white ballance. Auto , fluorescent?
Thanks!

I almost always shoot with Auto WB...but I shoot in RAW so that I can adjust it afterward.

The best thing to do, would probably be to set a custom WB. (see your manual). Basically, you take a test shot in the light (of a white or grey card), then use that image to set the custom.

Hey I`m pretty novice here, but i do shoot about 300-400 pics a week. for what its worth. I use a bulb like that. Its a daylight bulb so i set my camera to daylight. i have a canon eos 40d and it has loads of settings which i`m still learning so i do lots of test shots. i would suggest you do the same. check your shots on you camera back, if you can, after you shoot them you`ll get an idea if your in the ballpark or not and keep tweaking them.

Same as Big Mike - I use primarily Auto with a -1 compensation (think it adjusts approx another 50 kelvins warmer) except for indoors with flash when I switch to Flash with a -2 compensation. But I really have started using the WhiBal card and then batch set the photos taken in that setting. And another vote for RAW - shoot exclusively there as it just doesn't help white balance, but you have much more control/range with exposure, etc.

I leave in auto and just correct too, although I mostly shoot with a flash which gives everything a more neutral look anyways. If I'm shooting natural light with indoor bulbs, just shoot a custom WB off of any neutral or white object.

Ahhh...not to brag..ok, maybe a little...:mrgreen:

It's nice being able to set specific color temps in camera..

Hello,

cflrv3.jpg

Thanks!